Homemade Granola Bars

People are usually surprised when I admit that one of my favorite foods of all time is peanut butter. It took me 4 months to convince my Spanish roommates to try it, but once they did, they were immediately seduced by its magical powers. I’m usually a purist, though, when it comes to peanut butter. I eat a PB&J, have it with apple slices, or ants on a log as a snack, but that’s about it. As I’ve mentioned before, I like to make my own granola, and finally I found a recipe where I can combine the power of peanut butter and homemade granola.

I based the recipe off of this recipe, which when I read it, thought it won some award. Apparently the blogger was just saying that she finally found a recipe that met her standards, but I guess I romanticized it a little bit and that’s what inspired me to make it. I ended up changing a couple things, but that is the original recipe in case you are curious!

Homemade Granola Bars

1/2 c. honey
1/2 c. brown sugar
1/2 c. peanut butter
2 c. quick oats
2 c. rice or mill puff cereal
1/4 c. ground flax seed
1 c. total of your favorite mix-ins (I used raisins, dried cherries, and sunflower seeds, but you can use whatever nuts/fruit/chocolate that you want!)

In a small sauce pan, mix honey and brown sugar.

Cook over medium-high heat until sugar is completely dissolved – stirring constantly.

Remove from heat and quickly stir in peanut butter.

Mix the oats, cereal, and flax seed.

Pour honey mixture over dry ingredients — mix well.

Stir in nuts, fruit, and/or chocolate.

Press mixture into a 9″ x 13″ pan that has been greased or lined with wax paper. You will definitely need to use some elbow grease here to make sure they’re very compact. I pressed them down with a measuring cup.

Once they are shaped into the pan, bake at 350 for 15 minutes, or until the edges start to get brown.

Let sit until completely cooled, then pop them out of the dish and cut in half, and then in long strips so they are the shape of conventional granola bars.

Eat!

2 responses

    • Sorry for not clarifying! The other thing I changed is that I baked them afterwards. I guess that isn’t quite a few, but I felt the baking made a big difference. They were quite tasty indeed!

Leave a Reply

