Curried Vegetable Galette

A lot of people think that all vegetarians eat are straight up vegetables, tofu, and french fries. I can’t tell you how many times people have asked me what kind of meals I cook for myself because they just don’t understand how I can make a hardy meal and have it be vegetarian. I’m not writing this so I can stand on my soap box and run my mouth about vegetarianism, but I do want to highlight the fact that this meal is a perfect example of a hardy meal made with all natural ingredients and no meat substitutes that also happens to be vegetarian. It’s the perfect combination of healthy, yet substantial. So, with great pride, I introduce to you my Curried Vegetable Galette.

This dish I created out of inspiration from the delicious curry vegetable pie at Hoosier Mama Pie Company. During my internship there, I was offered to take home a slice of pie after every shift I worked and after a few weeks I was about to hit my sugar limit. The problem was, I can’t say no to free food — especially homemade and delicious free food. I’ve got school loans to pay off. Then, like it had been organized all along, curry veg pie came in season and suddenly I was able to accept the free pie again without any guilt.

Unfortunately, I never got the recipe, but from that grew inspiration for this galette, which is basically a pot pie that’s a bit more rustic in terms of the crust. This one was made with beets, yellow onion, and sweet potato, but you can use pretty much whatever you have. I would suggest using whatever is in season such as turnips, parsnips, squash, potatoes, spinach, peas, carrots, etc. You could even do a samosa theme with just potatoes and peas. I also thought about adding chick peas but I didn’t have any on-hand.

I served it with a light salad, but it would also go great with some soup. Perhaps carrot? Squash? So many possibilities… Ok well, here you go!

Curried Vegetable Galette

Serves 4

1 sweet potato
2 large beets (any variety will do)
1/2 yellow onion
1 Tablespoon olive oil
1 Tablespoon butter
1 Tablespoon flour1/2 cup milk (soy, almond, rice, etc would also work here
1 Tablespoon curry powder
1/2 teaspoon cayenne
1/4 teaspoon cinnamon
1 Tablespoon tomato paste
1 teaspoon ginger, grated or minced
salt and pepper, to taste
1/4 cup raisins

1 savory pie crust (you can find mine here, just omit the sugar)

Preheat your oven to 350 F.

First, make the pie dough, wrap it in plastic wrap and place in the fridge to chill while you make the filling.

Peel your beets and sweet potato. Along with the onion, chop into one inch cubes. A little smaller is fine too, but I wouldn’t chop them any larger than that. Toss vegetables in 1 Tablespoon of olive oil and spread onto a baking sheet. Cover with aluminum foil and place in the oven to roast until fork-tender. You will need to check them but they should be ready in 20-30 minutes. I like to take the foil off with about 5-10 minutes left so they get a little crispy on the outside.

While your vegetables are roasting, make the sauce. This is what holds everything together. First you make a roux by melting 1 tablespoon of butter in a saucepan over low heat. Add the flour and whisk continuously until the mixture starts to get thick. You will know it is ready when it turns a golden color and smells a bit nutty. It can burn quickly so make sure that it isn’t getting too brown and that you are continuously stirring. Once the roux is thick, add the milk and continue stirring. Then add the curry, cayenne, cinnamon, tomato paste, ginger, salt and pepper. Keep stirring on low heat for 2 or 3 more minutes then turn off the heat and cover (to avoid a skin forming on top).

When the vegetables are finished, pour them into the saucepan with your curry mixture and fold the two together. Be careful not to mix it too much as the sweet potatoes will be soft and you want them to keep their structure. It’s ok if some of them break down as it will add some thickness, you just don’t want mashed sweet potatoes.

At this point I put my pizza stone in the oven. If you don’t have a pizza stone you can bake this on a regular baking sheet, but using the stone made for an extra crispy and flakey crust. So the moral of the story is if you have one, use it.

Then, roll out your dough and place it on your peel like I did (and don’t forget to flour it if you do!), or onto your baking sheet (preferably lined with parchment). Next, pour your  filling into a pile in the middle of the dough and smash it down a little so it’s evenly distributed in a circle with about 2 inches of dough surrounding it. Then take the edge of the dough and fold it over the top, about 1 1/2 inches in from the edge. Do this all along the sides until all of the dough has been folded over and you have an adorable galette ready to go into the oven.

Bake at 350 F for 30-40 minutes or until the sides are golden brown and the bottom is crispy.

Enjoy!

Peace on Earth

Leave a Reply

