Ginger-Honey Orange Marmalade

Last summer, my good friend Laura moved to Ecuador for a two-year position as an elementary school teacher in Quito. I was lucky enough to get to see her a few times when she came home for Christmas, bearing lots of gifts for friends and family from Quito and her travels. As she knows I love to cook, she brought me some delicious miel de jengibre, or, as we call it, ginger-infused honey. That’s a girl after my own heart.

Usually I just dip pretzels into it and pour it over plain yogurt, but after feeling inspired from my latest jam creation, I decided to try out marmalade and use this honey instead of sugar. It was a great idea, indeed. Ginger and orange complement each other quite nicely, and the honey balances it out with subtle sweetness that doesn’t make your teeth feel like they’re going to fall out.


One quick note: This is not a stiff jam, but much looser, almost like a very thick syrup. Of course it’ll taste delectable on toast, but I’d also encourage spooning some over vanilla or chocolate ice cream, or even using it as a cake filling (like I may do in the next few days). I guess you’ll just have to stay tuned to find out.

Also, if you’re not lucky enough to get your hands on ginger honey, you can easily substitute regular honey and 3 tablespoons fresh finely grated ginger to the pot. Then just close your eyes, turn on your beach themed nature sound track, take a bite, and you’ll be in Ecuador. It’s really that simple — I do it all the time.

Ginger Honey Orange Marmalade
Yield: 1 pint sized jar with a little extra
4 navel oranges
1/4 cup ginger honey
3/4 cup clover honey
1/2 package liquid pectin
Sterilize your jar (or jars depending on size). New to canning? Learn all about it here!
Peel the oranges preserving as much of the rind (the orange part) and as little of the pith (the white part) as you can. I found the best way to do so is with a vegetable peeler. Slice the rinds into strips to the width of your liking. I did mine about 1/8 of an inch. You can also dice or mince them if you prefer.
Then you’re going to segment the orange. First you slice the top and bottom off of the orange. Set it upright so that it is sitting on a flat surface. Then, slice from top to bottom along the sides removing the pith but preserving the meat of the fruit. Once all of the pith is removed, run your knife along the membrane of each segment of the orange and cut out just the fruit, leaving the membrane behind. If that explaination doesn’t make sense, here’s a very detailed how-to video (yours will be a little different because the rind will have already been removed).
Once all of the segments have been removed I like to wrap the remaining pieces of the orange in cheesecloth and squeeze out all the extra juice that would otherwise be left behind. That’s an optional step, but I think well worth the extra work.
Place the rind, segments, and juice into a small saucepan along with the honeys. Again, if you don’t have ginger honey you can use regular here and add 2-3 tablespoons fresh grated ginger to the pot. Bring to a boil, stir, and let continue to boil at medium heat for 30 minutes. Add the pectin and allow to boil for another 5 minutes. Then immediately pour into jars, seal them up, and let sit out for 24 hours before opening. Once open, keep refrigerated.
One response

  1. Yaaaay miel de jengibre! I got so excited when I read this! So glad you’ve and enjoyed it and are now enjoying it in marmalade form- I only wish I could try it! And I am after your heart…so it’s working…

Leave a Reply

